Pikihuia Awards

A short story competition open to all Māori writers

Pikihuia Finalists 2019


Pikihuia is a short story competition open to all Māori writers – new writing talent, emerging writers who have shown promise and the best of published writers.

Held biennially, Pikihuia is greatly anticipated by writers and those supporting their success. The awards encourage diverse Māori viewpoints and recognise excellence in writing in both English and te reo Māori. Entries open in January, and the awards ceremony is held in September in the same year.

All awards carry cash prizes and selected writers have their stories published in the Huia Short Stories collection, a contemporary fiction series published by Huia Publishers.

Pikihuia started in 1995 and past winners and finalists include Paula Morris, Briar Grace-Smith, James George, Tina Makareti, Whiti Hereaka, Poia Rewi, Anahera Gildea and Steph Matuku.

From time to time, a Special Award is presented to recognise a lifetime contribution to Māori literature. Past recipients include Dame Katerina Te Heikoko Mataira, Sir Hirini Moko Mead and Peti Nohotima.

Currently closed

Entering the awards

Entries for Pikihuia opened on 1 January 2021.

Information about the 2021 awards categories and submission guidelines can be found here. Please read the guidelines carefully before completing the online entry form.

Contact the awards administrator for any enquiries about the awards: pikihuia@huia.co.nz


2019 Awards

Looking for more?

Past Awards

Curious about past winners and finalists?


The Huia Short Stories are collections of the best entries from the Pikihuia Awards. Many Māori writers have been published for the first time in these collections.

%d bloggers like this: