fbpx Skip to content

A short story competition open to
all Māori writers

Nearly 200 Māori writers have emerged through the Pikihuia short story competition, a competition that has firmly cemented a place in the literary calendar of Aotearoa.

The Pikihuia Awards has long championed new and emerging talent, serving as a springboard for the next generation of Māori writers.

Past winners of the Pikihuia Awards have included acclaimed writers – Paula Morris, James George, Kelly Ana Morey, Tina Makereti, Whiti Hereaka, Steph Matuku, Shilo Kino – and the list grows.

Pikihuia is held every two years and is open to all Māori writers.

Submissions now closed

2023 Pikihuia Awards

The iconic Pikihuia Awards, delivered by The Māori Literature Trust and HUIA Publishers, took place once again in 2023. Last year we were excited to welcome submissions in te reo Māori and English in all three sections.

2021 Pikihuia Awards

The 2021 Pikihuia Awards revealed a strong indication that more Māori writers than ever are finding their voice and are ready to be heard.

2019 Pikihuia Awards

The 2019 Pikihuia Awards revealed a new generation of confident Māori storytellers, speaking with authority and authenticity.

2017 Pikihuia Awards

The 2017 Pikihuia Awards revealed strengths in diversity and creativity, with stories reflecting what it means to be Māori.

View our past winners