Whakanuia! Celebrating Māori writers


There have been many wonderful achievements in the Māori literature space this month. Whakamihia ki ngā kaituhi Māori!


Congratulations to the following writers for successfully gaining a residency at the Michael King Writer’s Centre in 2023:

  • Jacquie McRae (Tainui)
  • Amber Esau (Ngāpuhi)
  • Hana Pera Aoake (Ngaati Mahuta, Ngaati Hinerangi me Ngaati Raukawa, Tainui/Waikato, Ngaati Waewae)
  • Atakohu Middleton (Ngāti Māhanga)


Congratulations to Kiri Solomon (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahu ki Whangaroa) whose story, Our Tūī, has won the emerging Māori writer award for the 2022 Sunday Star-Times short story awards. The award category was judged by Witi Ihimaera.


Congratulations to Tina Makareti who has won the 2022 Landfall Essay Competition with her essay, ‘Lumpectomy’, about her journey surviving breast cancer. Ngā mihi aroha e te Whaea!


Michelle Rahurahu (Ngāti Rahurahu, Ngāti Tahu-Ngāti Whaoa), has been named the new Te Māngai Māori ki te Poari Board representative for NZSA. Kei te mihi e hoa!


Tayi Tibble’s Poukahangatus has been nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Poetry. Ka rawe e kare!


The New Zealand Book Awards Trust Te Ohu Tiaki i Te Rau Hiringa is calling for entries for the 2023 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults, for books published in New Zealand between 1 April 2022 and 31 March 2023. Click here to submit.


Congratulations to Ariana Tikao (Ngāi Tahu) who will be one of the Ursula Bethell Writers in Residence for 2023.


Awa Wahine is looking for submissions and contributions for their next magazine edition ‘Toru’. Check out their submissions page or email to ataria@awawahine.co.nz


A great read here from Becky Manawatu (Ngāi Tahu) on Jacqui Sturm.


Congratulations to Colleen Maria Lenihan who is the Emerging Māori Writer in Residence at Te Herenga Waka (IIML) in 2023. Colleen will be working on a novel set in Aotearoa in pre-European times. Ka rawe, e hoa!

Recommended Posts