2015 Winners!

After almost two months of waiting the day has arrived and the winners have been announced! Congratulations to all of our finalists and our winners. You all did an amazing job and deserve to be acknowledged.
Below is the list of winners, and you can read some of the judges’ comments here. Over the next couple of weeks we will also be uploading the stories from our finalists in the Secondary Student Short Story and Short Film Script categories.
For photos from the event head to the Huia Publishers Facebook page.
Best Short Story written by a Secondary Student
Anna-Rose McGarvey – Enlisted
Best Novel Extract
Ann French – Hands of Time
Best Short Film Script
Aroha Awarau – Puti
Best Short Story written in English
Toni Pivac – In the Space of a Moment
Best Short Story written in Māori
Darryn Joseph – Toku Ao, Tō Mate Kanehe
The ceremony also saw Peti Nohotima receive the Huia Kahurangi Special Award for her Lifetime Contributions to Māori Literature.
Keep an eye out for photos from the event, courtesy of David Hamilton, coming soon!
Te Waka Taki Kōrero would once again like to thank our sponsors Creative New Zealand, Excel Digital, Taura Whiri i te reo Māori, Te Māngai Pāho, Shane Hansen and Huia Publishers. We would also like to acknowledge our judges Sir Wira Gardiner, Witi Ihimaera, Larry Parr, Poia Rewi and Arihia McClutchie, along with our presenters Matai Smith, Tilly Reedy, Stephen Wainwright, Rawinia Higgins, Tuehu Harris, Rowan Pita and Waana Davis.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s