2015 Finalists

We have Finalists!

‘Tell Us Your Story’ is what the Māori Literature Trust asked from Māori writers for the 2015 Pikihuia Awards, and that’s exactly what they did.

In the same year that New Zealand literature and publishing were recognised at the Taipei Book Fair, the Pikihuia Awards this year have resulted in 42 percent of submissions coming from new writers. It is obvious that there is a need for our stories to be told, and more and more Māori writers are heeding this call.

This year’s Pikihuia judges received stories, extracts and film scripts about lost love at war, eeling in the country, sickness, friendship and tattoos, and flirting with the poi.

After six weeks of reading, analysing, rereading and critiquing, our judges have chosen their finalists for the Pikihuia Awards 2015. Witi Ihimaera, judge of the Best Novel Extract category, said that ‘The entries show promise, Māori inflections, good intentions and, most importantly, the ability to go the distance that a novel requires.’

Congratulations to the following writers:

Best Short Story written in te reo Māori, judged by Poia Rewi
Darryn Joseph – Taku Ao, Tō Mate Kanehe
Vincent Olsen-Reeder – Te Reo o te Kuia
Zeb Tamihana Nicklin – Taku Rua Rau

Best Short Story written in English, judged by Sir Wira Gardiner
Robert MacDonald – Old Tōtara
Toni Pivac – In The Space of a Moment
Aroha Bentson – The Power of Water

Best Novel Extract, judged by Witi Ihimaera
Ann French – Hands of Time
Anya Ngawhare – Average Kids and Bigots
André Hetariki – Tangaroa’s Promise

Best Short Film Script, judged by Larry Parr
Aroha Awarau – Puti
Aroha Awarau – Poi
Vicki-Anne Heikell – Priscilla and the Miracles

Best Short Story written by a Secondary School Student, judged by Arihia McClutchie
Anna-Rose McGarvey, Otakiri School – Enlisted
Imogen Porter, Wellington High School – Street Lights
Lucy Matehaere, Otago Girl’s High School – Maia’s Bay

The winners will be announced at the Pikihuia Awards Ceremony at Te Wharewaka o Pōneke on Saturday, 19 September. Stay tuned to find out who wins!

The awards ceremony will also recognise selected writers whose stories will be published in our biennial anthology, Huia Short Stories 11. These writers include Toni Pivac, Aroha Bentson, Robert MacDonald, Aimee Tapping, K-T Harrison, Ann French, Anya Ngawhare, Lauren Aikman, Aaron Ure, Darryn Joseph, Zeb Nicklin, Vincent Olsen-Reeder, André Hetariki, Shilo Kino and Helen Waaka.

3 thoughts on “2015 Finalists

  1. Joe Hunter says:

    So proud to see one of my students in the finalists list! He mihi mahana ki a koutou katoa e mau pene ana, tuhi ai. Kei runga noa atu koutou!

  2. Dehlia Ngawhare says:

    Congratulations to all the above and way to go Anya Ngawhare

  3. Aaron Ure says:

    So thankful for the opportunity to step up every couple of years. Next time, the top three!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: