The 2011 Pikihuia Awards

Split Categories in This Year’s Pikihuia Awards for Māori Writers

For the first time in the Pikihuia Awards for Māori Writers, the category of Best Short Story written by a Secondary School Student was split into two categories: English and te reo Māori.

Secondary school finalists 2011

HUIA Resource Developer and judge of the Māori secondary school entries Te Mihinga Komene said that ‘the high volume of quality writing in both English and Māori needed recognition’.

The winners and runners-up in the Pikihuia Awards were announced at the awards ceremony at Te Papa, Wellington, on Saturday and had been selected from a pool of 324 entries and 44 finalists.

The finalists in the Best Short Story in English, Best Short Story in te reo Māori and the Novel Extract categories have been published in Huia Short Stories 9, which is now available in bookstores and on the HUIA website.

By popular request, HUIA will also be publishing the winning entries from the secondary school students’ categories on their website at

Tikanga Maori

The Pikihuia Awards for Māori Writers, formerly known as the Huia Short Story Awards, were established in 1995 to identify and promote Māori writers. This has resulted in hundreds of stories being published, including those by many award-winning writers.

The evening also saw Sir Hirini Moko Mead accept a special award for Lifetime Contribution to Māori Literature. Sir Hirini is the author of one of Huia Publisher’s best-selling and most well-received books, Tikanga Māori: Living by Māori Values.


Best Short Story written in English: Helen Waaka (Waipukurau)
Runners-up: Anahera Gildea (Wellington) and Anita Tipene (Northland)

Best Short Story written in te reo Māori: Fred Te Maro (Wellington)
Runners-up: Erin Thompson-Pou (Rotorua) and P J Akuhata (Gisborne)

Best Novel Extract: Marama Salsano (Gisborne)
Runners-up: Ann French (Tauranga) and K-T Harrison (Hamilton)

Best Short Film Script: Larissa McMillan (Wellington)
Runner-up: Mike Townsend (Wellington)

Best Short Story written by a Secondary School Student in English:
Grace Allen (Palmerston North)
Runners-up: Maria Murray (Kaitāia) and Jayziah Sula (Hawke’s Bay)

Best Short Story written by a Secondary School Student in te reo Māori:
Te Aorere Pēwhairangi (Palmerston North)
Runners-up: Kohukohurangi Isaac-Sharland (Palmerston North) and Hori Thompson (Rotorua)

The Pikihuia Awards for 2011 were proudly sponsored by Te Waka Toi, Te Puni Kōkiri, New Zealand Film Commission, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori, Te Māngai Pāho, Toi Māori Aotearoa, Te Papa, D’sign Nation and Huia Publishers.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: