The Pikihuia Awards is currently closed for submissions. This years finalists have been announced.

Held every two years to promote Māori writers and encourage new and diverse Māori viewpoints and writing in both English and Māori. There are six categories:

  • Best Short Story Written in English.
  • Best Short Story Written in te reo Māori
  • Best Short Film Script
  • Best Novel Extract
  • Best Short Story by a School Student in English
  • Best Short Story by a School Student in te reo Māori

Entrants in each of the first four categories have a chance to win $2000, while students in the School Student categories are eligible to win a cash prize of $500 and $250 worth of HUIA books for their school.

Entries for the competition close after Easter at 5.00pm on Tuesday, 18 April.  The judges for this year will be confirmed in the next few weeks. Finalists will be notified in June, and the winners will be announced in September. A book of the finalist entries – HUIA Short Stories 12 – will be launched at the Awards ceremony.

Meet the judges

Enter here

Conditions of Entry