About the Awards

The Pikihuia Awards (formerly the Huia Short Story Awards) is a biennial competition that started in 1995 to discover and recognise Māori writers. The awards encourage diverse Māori viewpoints and writing in both te reo Māori and English.

Award categories

  • First-time Writer in te reo Māori
  • First-time Writer in English
  • Emerging Writer in te reo Māori
  • Emerging Writer in English


The winner of each category will receive a $2,000 cash prize each. Two highly commended finalists in each category will receive a cash prize of $500 each.
Selected winners and finalists are published in the Huia Short Stories collection – a contemporary fiction series published by Huia Publishers.

Entering the Awards

Entries for Pikihuia are now closed.
The finalists will be announced in a media release and on our Facebook and Instagram pages on 9 June 2021.

Information about the award categories and submission guidelines can be found in the entry guidelines

Contact the awards administrator for any enquiries: pikihuia@huia.co.nz

Key dates

8 February 2021 – Entries Open
12 April 2021 – Entries Close
9 June 2021 – Finalists Announced
25 September 2021 – Winners Announced at the Pikihuia Awards Ceremony

Awards ceremony

The awards ceremony is held in Wellington to announce the winners and launch the Huia Short Stories collection.

From time to time, we also recognise a lifetime contribution to New Zealand literature with the presentation of a Special Award. Past recipients of this award include Dame Katerina Te Heikoko Mataira and Sir Hirini Moko Mead.

Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: