Te Papa Tupu 2014 Winners Announced

Te Papa Tupu Writers and Mentors
Te Papa Tupu Writers and Mentors. Back row L–R: Jo Kemp Baker, Margaret Cahill, David Hill, Simon Minto, Robert MacDonald, Reina Whaitiri Front row L–R: Shelley Burnefield, Rebecca Lal, Mary McCallum, Lennox Jones

TePapaTupu2014_webThe Māori Literature Trust is excited to announce the winners of the 2014 Te Papa Tupu Writers’ Contest.  

This year’s competition saw a record sixty-three entries and a wide variety of genres represented including, for the first time, blogs. 

This year’s winners are: 

Shelley Burnefield – Ngāti Mutunga
Jo Kemp Baker – Ngāpuhi and Ngāti Kahu
Terence Rissetto – Ngāti Pāoa, Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Māmoe, Waitaha
David Hill – Ngaitewake, Ngāpuhi
Lennox Jones – Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Ngāti Kahungunu
Robert MacDonald – Rangitāne ki Wairau, Ngāti Kahungunu

These six writers have now started the Incubator phase of Te Papa Tupu programme, which involves the development of their writing skills through mentoring and workshops over the next six months. Each writer has a mentor assigned to them to provide advice and guidance during the programme.

This is the third year the biennial programme has been held.

The Māori Literature Trust would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the writers who submitted their work to the competition.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: